lg_Teeny Awards.jpg

Big Talent at Teeny Awards - Held by Islip Arts Council

  • Sayville’s Got BIG Talent

    At the Islip Arts Council

    Teeny Awards


    Sayville High School theatre students nominated for participation in the annual Islip Arts Council Teeny Awards, hosted by Central Islip High School this year, enjoyed a celebration to remember--and two came home with trophies!


    The student-arts recognition program of the Islip Arts Council, originally established in 2002 by the East End Arts Council, has been offering a “Tony Awards” styled event that honors talented theatre arts students throughout Islip Township. Part of the mission of the Third Annual Teeny Awards was to encourage students to “pursue their dreams,” as well as “stimulate local interest while developing an understanding of the value of theatre education in a well-rounded school curriculum. The Teeny Awards reflect a commitment by the Islip Arts Council to recognize high school theatre as an opportunity for young people to prepare themselves for the world beyond the school walls.”


    During the academic year, Islip Arts Council judges attended a variety of productions at the ten Islip Town schools in the competition that included performances at: Bay Shore—Les Miserables, Hair; Bay port-Blue Point—Brigadoon; Connetquot—A Walk in My Shoes; East Islip—Guy and Dolls; Central Islip—As You Like it, Jesus Christ Superstar; Hauppauge—The Complete Works of William Shakespeare; Sayville—Inherit the Wind; West Islip—Brighton Beach, Footloose;  as well as for backstage of Bye, Bye Birdie, at St. John the Baptist Diocesan High School and pit orchestra at Brentwood High School.


    Thirteen Sayville students were nominated for their dynamic contributions to the Sayville Drama program: Christian Brown, James Harlin, Derek Harnett, Melanie Anderson, Francesca Cascardo, Alyssa Coia, Cassie D’Agostino, Nicole Ferremi, Georiga Grant, Anna Mizza, Kiera Muscara, Alexis Skalkowski, and Alivia Wesley. Also, Sayville High School Pit Orchestra, along with six other schools, received recognition for Excellence in a Musical Production.


    And the Teeny Goes to…

    Winning the trophy for Best Lead Female was Cassie D’Agostino for her role as Matthew Harrison Brady in Inherit the Wind and winning Outstanding Performance in a Drama was Kiera Muscara as E.K. Hembeck, in Inherit the Wind.


    Congratulations to Cassie and Kiera, as well as to all the supporting Sayville Players, for their award-winning contributions to the Sayville Theatre Arts program!


Sayville Students at TEENY AWARDS Ceremony