Academic Awards Night at High School

  • A Night of Amazing Seniors 

    It was an ambitious night for recognition.

    At the 38th Annual Scholastic Awards program, a record-setting 246 awards from all categories of the arts, business, technology, academics, sciences, and the humanities, as well as memorial awards, were given to 143 deserving Seniors in the Class of 2012. In addition, 122 Community Scholarships, totaling approximating $125,000, from local organizations and businesses were awarded to 76 graduating seniors. (See names below in attachments.)

    More inspiring than just these statistics about the merited awards and trophies, however, were the words of praise, joyful reactions, and collegiate spirit that filled the auditorium for the grand evening of celebration.

    “This evening is a very special evening for us,” Principal Ron Hoffer explained, “because we have the opportunity to honor those students who have excelled in some facet of our academic and/or co-curricular programs.  As you can see from our program, the awards cover a wide range of activities in our High School.  The award winners are selected as a result of their academic excellence and/or as a result of their involvement and leadership in a co-curricular activity.  We have many outstanding students in our high school, so the selection process often proves to be a very difficult task.”

    To honor four Seniors who were joining the military after graduation, General Dennis Fagan, Captain Michael Huggins, and “newly minted” Marines private Dominic Musorofiti (Sayville Class of 2011) called the recruits to the stage. General Fagan commended the service of Jessica Bartolotta, Garrett Boyce, KeriAnn Murphy, and Brendan O’Toole and acknowledged the significance of the “coin ceremony” that took place during the special initiation.

    After thanking the parents and friends of the award winners for their support and guidance, Principal Hoffer added. “Your sons and daughters are who they are because of your love and leadership.  We the faculty and staff of Sayville High School are so truly blessed to have the opportunity each day to see your children, our students, grow and learn.” 

    By the close of the ceremony, the emotions generated by so many poignant moments of recognition and congratulations lingered. The remarkable dedication and scholarship of so many in the Class of 2012 has once again made the Sayville community very proud.

    For The Class of 2012 Outstanding Academic Excellence Awards, honorees included Valedictorian Erica Weinberg and Salutatorian Jacqueline Kalomiris along with their 23 classmates (listed below) who ranked in the top ten percent.

    Joseph Black
    Garrett Boyce       
    Alexis Brown   
    Tiffany Bruno
    Kimberly Colavito
    Emily Diehl
    Caitlin Donnelly
    John Farese
    Julianna Fiorillo   
    John Gatta
    Kathleen Maehr
    Allyson Marchan
    Jeremy Mayrose
    Courtney Mignone

    Anna Mizzi
    Gabrielle Pacia
    Justin Rippert
    Matthew Seeba
    Stephanie Seredenko
    Christopher Siracusa
    Zachary Stephan
    Kyle Tieman-Strauss
    Kelsey Truglio

Related Files