Athletic Awards for Sayville's Best

  • A Night Recognizing Athletic Excellence in Sayville’s Year-end Awards Ceremony


    Congratulations to the following Sayville Athletes who were presented with Inspirational, Most Valuable Player, and Athletic Special Awards for their excellence in sports. These students have demonstrated the highest individual accomplishments throughout their High School careers and have earned recognition from their coaches, their teammates, and the Athletic Department.


    Special Senior Athletic Awards:

    Kelly Santangelo • The Marinus Buys Memorial Award for Most Outstanding Athlete

    Julia DePompeo • The Buck MacKenzie Award for Service, Sportsmanship & Athletics

    The Sayville Coaches:  Brendan Butler

    The Outstanding Scholar-Athlete: Maria Bonacore

    The William Costanzo Memorial: Steven Leshinger

    Warren Collins Memorial: Molly McCauley

    The Harvey Case Memorial: Holly Citeno

    Gold-Key Award Recipients:

    Maria Bonacore

    Holly Citeno

    Julia DePompeo

    Kayla Grossi

    Molly McCauley

    Richard Millwater

    Tyler Nolan

    Jonathan Paciorek

    Sarah Pellegrini

    Kelly Salloum

    Kelly Santangelo

    Tanner Sterback

    Maureen Taylor

    Margaret Verspoo



    MVP WINNERS        

    The Most Valuable Boys Cross-Country Award • Sean Bonney    

    The Most Valuable Girls Cross-Country Award • Margaret Verspoor  

    The Carl Varone Track Award       • Sean Bonney   

    The Paul Kelley Track Award        • Tyler Nolan

    The Ron Smith Award         • Sarah Pellegrini

    The Golden Sneaker Award • Kieran Harrison

    The Betty Martin Field Hockey Award • Madelyn Vetrano

    The Demi Bineares Scholarship Award   • Emily Crawford           

    The Most Valuable Girls Soccer Award    • Dariann Sellitti           

    The John Schroeder Scholarship Award-Girls • Kelly Santangelo

    The Huron Smith Memorial Soccer Award-Girls • Kelly Santangelo

    The Huron Smith Memorial Soccer Award-Boys • Daniel Scheck

    The Most Valuable Boys Soccer Award  • Jared VanBrunt           

    The Most Valuable Cheerleading Award      • Kristi Troha

    The Cheerleading Leadership Award             • Kirstin Colon

    The Most Valuable Baseball Award            • Nicholas Petrella

    The Golden Bat Baseball Award                   • Michael Hewson     

    The Baseball Scholarship Award                    • Kyle Van Duyne

    The Most Valuable Softball Award               • Merissa Selts                                 

    The Golden Bat Softball Award                       • Kathleen Maehr   

    The Barney Pazourek Annual Football Award  • Joseph DeLuca             

    The A.C. Edwards Award                                • Justin Fronckwicz

    The Gerry Corrado Memorial Award                • Casey Boos                

    The Jason Ruzicka Memorial Scholarship        • Casey Boos                

    The Most Valuable Female Golf Award       • Shannon Haselton

    The William Zeller Memorial Golf Award    • Kyle Burke

    The May Hazen Girls Basketball Award       • Julia DePompeo

    The Most Valuable Girls Basketball Award  • Amy Dean

    The Major Merrill Wish Basketball Award   • Christopher Lowe & James Rupp                  

    The Bud VanWyen Memorial Basketball Award • Richard Geiger

    The Most Valuable Girls Volleyball Award   • Kayla Mergl           

    The Stadtmuller Volleyball Award • Julia DePompeo

    The Most Valuable Boys Volleyball Award   • Tyler Nolan

    The Rookie of the Year Volleyball Award     • Kevin O’Neil

    The Most Valuable Girls Swimming Award • Marisa DiNovis

    The Most Valuable Boys Swimming Award • Matthew Hillsberg

    The Otto Kubelle Memorial Girls Tennis Award • Lauren Bohman

    The Otto Kubelle Memorial Boys Tennis Award • Jared Drzal                              

    The Evelyn Stoll Girls Track Award             • Angelica Hernandez & Alexandra Russell

    The Atalanta Girls Track Award                   • Breana Lindquist

    The Gold Baton Award                                  • Sarah Pellegrini     

    The George Rhodes Memorial Wrestling Award • Matthew Leshinger

    The Jules Molson Memorial Award            • Steven Leshinger

    The Most Valuable Bowler Award                • Christopher Beni

    The Most Improved Bowler Award            • Melanie Drinkwater

    The Most Valuable Girls Lacrosse Award    • Emily Meier

    The Girls Lacrosse Defense Award                   • Elizabeth Koehler

    The Most Valuable Boys Lacrosse Award    • Steven Ferreira

    The Boys Lacrosse Gladiator Award             • Patrick Fleming                              

    The Mitchell Cangelosi Scholarship              • Joseph DeLuca                   

    Gilbert D. Bishop Memorial Scholarship        • Maria Bonacore