lg_NHS 2011 21.jpg

National Honor Society Inducts 77


    Seventy-seven Inducted

    at Annual Ceremony


    Seventy-seven Sayville High School students were newly inducted into this year’s National Honor Society. These academic high-achievers have demonstrated the attributes of scholarship, leadership, character, and service through various co-curricula and extra-curricula activities in addition to maintaining a 94.5 average throughout their High School careers.


    During the Annual NHS Induction ceremony, Honor Society Advisor Kevin Recker recognized the “tremendous achievements by these young men and women,” but also commended the parents for “a job well-done,” because family support contributes to student success.


    Principal Ron Hoffer addressed the seventy-five inductees who have met or far exceeded the requirements of the National Honor Society that was founded on the principles that “a true education creates a well-rounded individual.”  Mr. Hoffer commented on the results of a study by Dr. Douglas Heath, psychologist at Haverford College, who reported that” the single most significant predictor of success in adults was involvement in extra-curricula and co-curricula activities.” Beyond their scholarship, Mr. Hoffer extolled the exceptional efforts of all the inductees for their significant involvement in service organizations, athletics, and clubs. He trusted they would live up to many of the admirable attributes that will make a difference in the lives of others.


    After the  2011 NHS slate of officers each bequeathed their office to the newly elected officers for the 2012 school year (see below), each student was called up to receive individual recognition.     

    -         From the Class of 2011, Tracey Rosa handed over the office of President  to Class of 2012  elect Garrett Boyce & Tiffany Bruno

    -         From the Class of 2011,  Neha Kinariwalla, Molly McCauley, & Alexandra Russell handed over the office of Vice President to  Gabrielle Pacia

    -         From the Class of 2011, Erin Robson handed over the office of Treasurer  to Caitlin Donnelly

    -         From the Class of 2011, Marisa DiNovis handed over the office of Secretary  to Erica Weinberg



    Congratulations to the following NHS New Members:



    1. Madeleine Albano                 
    2. Patrick Andrews
    3. Joseph Black
    4. Althea Bourdeau
    5. Garrett Boyce
    6. Jillian Braverman
    7. Alexis Brown
    8. Tiffany Bruno
    9. Taylor Callis
    10. Lindsay Carbone
    11. Cassandra Carl
    12. Kimberly Colavito
    13. Brendan Cunningham
    14. Stephen DelGuadio
    15. Emily Diehl
    16. Caitlin Donnelly
    17. Mollie Drinkwater
    18. Sarah Elsesser
    19. John Farese
    20. Julianna Fiorillo
    21. Andrew Fisher
    22. Emily Gallagher
    23. John Gatta
    24. Katherine Greenbaum
    25. Allie Gressler
    26. Derek Hartnett
    27. William Hudson
    28. Daniel Hunt
    29. Brooke Iorio
    30. Jacqueline Kalomiris
    31. Margaret Kavanagh
    32. Michael Kennedy
    33. Marissa Klassert
    34. Matthew Kollegger
    35. Lindsey Kuri
    36. Michelle Langton
    37. Thomas Langton
    38. Michael LaPinta
    39. Breana Lindquist
    40. Kayla MacFarlane
    41. Kathleen Maehr
    42. Allyson Marchan
    43. Kimberly Marra
    44. Jeremy Mayrose
    45. Anna Elena Mizzi
    46. Keriann Murphy
    47. Payton Murphy
    48. Kiera Muscara
    49. Connie Nielsen
    50. Haley Nicolino
    51. Daniel Nolan
    52. Gabrielle Pacia
    53. Alicia Protus
    54. Michael Rahn
    55. Justin Rippert
    56. Kelsey Schneider
    57. Dana Schulz
    58. Matthew Seeba
    59. Stephanie Seredenko
    60. Julia Sergison
    61. Chris Siracusa
    62. Alexis Skalkowski
    63. Danielle Specce
    64. Ashley Stengel
    65. Zachary Stephan
    66. Kerry Swike
    67. Harrison Teplitz
    68. Kyle Tieman-Strauss
    69. Qxiara Tomasetti
    70. Kelsey Truglio
    71. Jessica Tully
    72. Ryan Vahey
    73. Jared VanBrunt
    74. Jesse Weaver
    75. Erica Weinberg
    76. Colleen Whitehurst
    77. EJay Zarett


New officers.jpg
national honor society Mr.jpg
Officers 2011.jpg
NHS 2011 2.jpg
NHS 9.jpg