OSCARS at Cherry

  • The OSCAR Ceremony

    at Cherry Avenue


    The Third Annual Oscar presentation for the Third-grade students at Cherry Avenue was another starlet-studded gala of award-winning personalities that had everyone applauding.


    Hollywood star decals on the floor led invited guests to the red carpet entrance of the cafetorium and through the artfully decorated doorway. Within, life-sized golden Oscar posters flanked the stage. The audience twittered and pointed with excitement as the nominees hurried past to take their places for the ceremony.


    From the moment the stage curtains parted for the opening song and dance number (directed by music teacher Kristi Woerner) until the last award category was announced, all eyes focused on the glamorously dressed winners of the golden statuettes. And every Third-grader was a winner, for one attribute or other (see list below), the result of ballots tallied after the votes were cast by their teachers and classmates in advance of the ceremony.


    The Third-grade teachers, donning feather boas and tiaras, hosted the event and announced the category winners. Each Oscar winner took the stage and gave a speech thanking the important people in his or her life… “mom and dad for homework help; sisters or brothers for being nice; for best friends, and for the teachers who made it all possible.”


    A special Life-Time Achievement Award was presented to Dr. Rosemary Jones, Sayville Schools Superintendent, who will be stepping down at the end of this academic year. Dr. Jones expressed her tremendous gratitude to her fellow Oscar Winners for their support and for the lifetime of wonderful memories the Sayville students have given her over the years.


    The Cherry Avenue Oscar Ceremony, a self-esteem promotional program, has been the brainchild of Third-grade teacher Mrs. Geraldine Batterberry who saw it as a creative way to fulfill the New York State Standards for public speaking. Yet, without the indispensible assistance of her Third-grader colleagues Mrs. Donnelly, Mrs. Fulton, and Mrs. Falco, along with the support of Principal John Stimmel, music teacher Kristi Woerner, Mrs. Batterberry’s idea would not have been such an extravaganza that delighted everyone.



    For the real stars of the show, the Cherry Avenue students, who proved to be confident and poised before the large crowds, the Oscar cermony may have been just the beginning of illustrious careers in public speaking.  Time will tell…


    Mrs. Fulton's class


    Best Leading Attittude: Faith Dargis, Colin Rajkowski

    Best Set Design: Jonathan Nolan, Eric Willsen

    Best Supporting Speller: Bryce Morrison

    Best Script: Madeline Braun, Eric Gustafson

    Best Screenplay: Caitlin Fawcett

    Leading Man: Brady Dolan, Andrew Ohman

    Leading Lady: Ryleigh Canberg, Simone Carniaux

    Outstanding Behavior: Emma Malone, Camryn Sparacio

    Best Director: Jack Goercke, Erika Powers

    Math Action Star: Timothy McNamara, Thomas Nielsen

    Director's Assistant: Nicole Leigh-Manuell, Daniel Witt


    Mrs. Batterberry’s Class

    Best Leading Attitude:  Daniel Connolly and Keira Hanlon

    Best Set Design: William Sukow and Lorenzo Pensabene

    Best Supporting Speller: Alex Urmaza

    Best Script:  Madeline Henke

    Best Screenplay: Avery Rosado and Sara Holmes

    Leading Men: Justin Rosado and Jacob Wolmart

    Leading Ladies: Megan Romano and Emily Manning

    Outstanding Behavior: Ceili Howland and Julia Kazmarek

    Best Director: Andrew Liberato and Rylie Allen

    Math Action Star: Jack Davis and Nicholas DeStefano

    Director’s Assistant: Kathryn Kolar and Carmella Perrone


    Mrs.  Donnolly’s Class:

    Best Leading Attitude:  Jacquelin Weinfeld

    Best Set Design: Lillian Schweiert and Maggie Schroeder

    Best Supporting Speller: Sean Imhoff and Adele Micelli

    Best Script:  Madelyn Wagner and Ian Azzara

    Best Screenplay: Paige Hall

    Leading Men: Kolbi Maddy and Aidan Kaler

    Leading Ladies: Bettina Bonfiglio and Maria Buffardi

    Outstanding Behavior: Dana Welch

    Best Director: Thomas Marks and William Folks

    Math Action Star: Liam Berlingieri and Evan Geffner

    Director’s Assistant:  Autumn Dushnick and Christopher Reitzel


    Mrs. Falco’s Class:

    Leading Attitude:  William Casaburi and Richard Michelini

    Best Set Design: Ava Herrera and Christopher Hlavaty

    Best Supporting Speller: Donald Schweikert and Alexa Panusuk

    Best Script: Timothy Mohrman and Lauren Birong

    Best Screenplay: Cory Cutrone and NadiaYojadda

    Leading Men: Johnny Gaccionar

    Leading Ladies: Hannah Niggemeier and Nita George

    Outstanding Behavior: Gabriella Ulloa

    Best Director: Allison Neumeyer and Christopher Pitre

    Math Action Star: Jake Maha and Jenna Newman

    Director’s Assistant :  Kevin Lederer