The challenges of 2020 may have changed the look of most awards ceremonies, but there are creative ways to give recognition for excellence to those who deserve it. 

    This past spring, the COVID-19 Pandemic had postponed the 2020 National Junior Honor Society induction ceremony at Sayville Middle School. However, the Middle School recently created a virtual ceremony that was no less rewarding for the honors it bestowed on each deserving student.  Middle School Principal Dr. Joseph Castoro and NJHS advisor Mrs. Dawn Lloyd Matthews, along with NJHS committee for the Sayville Middle School Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society, staged a presentation that abided by social distancing restrictions.  This ceremony had been recorded (see above) and posted to share with the Sayville Community.  Leading the pledge was Assistant Principal Brian Decker; speaking about the attributes of Scholarship, Leadership, Character, Citizenship, and Service were the following NJHS Committee members respectively:   Mrs. Kristin Chirichella, Ms. Jen Chapman, Ms. Kellie Lindskog, Mrs. Lauren Cierski and Mrs. Cathy Ward.



    Congratulations to the following inductees: 


    7th Grade National Junior Honor Society Members

    Philip Abad

    Khadija Abid

    Ashley Alexander

    Cristiana Anastasio

    Donovan Bartolotta

    Carly Brady

    McKenna Broderick

    Tyler Brown

    Christian Buono

    Angelina Campos

    Sofia Cangelosi

    Bruno Cappiello

    Taylor Carpentieri

    Alexander Clark

    Emma Como

    Christopher Costa

    Erin Costa

    Melissa Covais

    Haley D’ambrosio

    Julia Deal

    Gina Eichele

    Griffin Entenberg

    Jasmine Evans

    Sean Evans

    Emily Finn

    Vincent Fontanetta

    Abigail Galaris

    Grace Garafola

    Elena Haakonson

    Emily Halloran

    Jack Hartman

    Jack Higgins

    Jake Hinteman

    Elizabeth Holahan

    Dario Jaimes

    Logan Keil

    Sadie King

    Lisa Kotkiewicz

    Kellie LaMar

    Madison Lang

    Andrew Law

    Nicolas Linss

    Matthew Luffman

    Isabella Lundquist

    Jake Maksimiak

    Breanna McBride

    Elizabeth McCabe

    Steven Mercorella

    Kate Meyer

    Katerina Michaelides

    Leo Mongiello

    Olivia Moynihan

    Shay Plitt

    Gioia Racanelli

    Maura Reilly

    Scarlett Reilly

    Kamryn Restivo

    Robert Rubino

    Ava Sanchez

    Abigail Schroeder

    Abigail Streek

    Alexandra Sullivan

    Emma Tassino

    Andrew Thiakodemitris

    Sienna Turner

    Adria Vargas

    Ava Vadyak

    Jordan Weber

    Julianna Weinfeld

    Jolie Whalen

    Rachel Wiebke

    Samuel Wilbert

    Sydney Young


    8th Grade National Junior Honor Society


    Steven Jaklitsch

    Michael Laterza

    Zakary Minutello

    John O’Donnell

    Aidan Orlando

    Corinne Schick

    Melanie Sharkey

    "The function of education is to teach one to think intensively and to think critically. Intelligence plus character-that is the goal of true education." --Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.