Congratulations to the 2022 NJHS Inductees

Inductees 2022 NJHS

May 24, 2022

  • At a candle-lighting ceremony, the National Junior Honor Society held its annual induction on Tuesday, May 24, 2022 for fifty-five high-achieving Sayville Middle School students.

    In his welcome, Middle School Principal Dr. Joseph Castoro first thanked the parents in the audience for their support and their encouragement that has uplifted the Middle School students being honored that evening. To the students on the stage, Dr. Castoro praised them for their hard work and reminded them that their work ethic, good character, and kindness towards each other will take them far.

    Remarking that this induction was “a prestigious honor,” NJHS Advisor Mrs. Dawn Lloyd-Matthews acknowledged that each of the students had earned this National Junior Honor Society membership through their hard work, beginning in the sixth-grade. She also thanked the families “for supporting their children to reach this milestone.”

    To achieve NJHS membership in an organization that recognizes exceptional middle-level students, each inductee must have successfully demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, citizenship, and character throughout their Middle School years. In addition to demonstrating these exemplary qualities, each student had to maintain an average of 95 or above for four quarters in the five subjects of Social Studies, English, Science, Math, World Languages, and was required to submit a letter of application.

    As the ceremony continued, select NJHS Eight-grade members provided descriptions of the five attributes: scholarship (Paige Manning), service (Emma Burns), leadership (Alexandra Menechino), character (Sara Stewart), and citizenship (Kayleigh Hillery), while Morgan Farrell lit the corresponding (electric) candle. Other NJHS members (Carly Cangelosi, Katelyn Cunningham, Dylan Lutz, Henry Reiss, and Julia Sack) announced the names of the inductees who were called in alphabetical order to receive their certificates from Dr. Castoro. Once the certificates were awarded, NJHS member Ella Ryan led the inductees in the NJHS Pledge.

    Closing the ceremony with parting words, both Dr. Castoro and Mrs. Lloyd-Matthews expressed their confidence in the inductees’ examples of words and actions to help make the Middle School “a better place for all who attend.” Congratulations to the following students (see Program).




    7th Grade

    Juliana Ahern

    Joseph Albertelli

    Bridget Alcabes

    Brooke Alcantara

    Natalia Anastasio

    Madelyn Andersen

    Christina Artusa

    Michael Babbino

    Leah Babcock

    Connor Batterberry

    Carter Betzold

    Taylor Brink

    Lily Castle

    Brooke Charles

    Viggo Collins

    Ciaran Coyne

    Matthew DeGraff

    Marianna Duffy

    Kyleigh Erickson

    Caroline Folks

    Madelyn Griffin

    Andrea Hodgkinson

    Jamison Holt

    Samara Lee

    Eliana Lee

    Ryan Linker

    Aniela Marino

    Jill Martin

    Keira McCormack-Falk

    Dylan McNamara

    Tessa Meehan

    William Mitchell

    Katie Monahan

    Shelby Munchgesang

    Brady O’Donoghue

    Jake O’Malley

    Gia Pisani

    Chloe Radziewicz

    Reilly Riviello

    Marithia Ruf

    Mia Schutte

    Anna Shea

    Bridget Spreckels

    Pravigna Unguturu

    Sophia Vario

    Macayla Vaccaro

    Olivia Verdone

    Madelyn Vitale

    Jasper Weirshousky

    Lily Williams

    Ryan Wood, Jr.


    total : 51


    8th grade 

    Gabriella Binetti

    Karley Ruckert

    Ava Schutte

    Jessica Smith


    Total: 4

    Grand Total: 55

2022 National Junior Honor Society Program

If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.