The Cherry Avenue Class of 2022 Had a Cheery Moving-Up Ceremony

Cherry Avenue Class of 2022
  • June 22, 2022

    It may have been pouring outside the District auditorium (the once Old Junior High), but nothing could dampen the spirits of the Cherry Avenue Fifth-Grade Class of 2022 at their Moving-Up. On this special day, the ceremony highlighted past accomplishments with an eye on their futures.

    The proud Fifth-Graders marched down the center aisle of the District auditorium to Pomp and Circumstance and processed in an orderly fashion to their seats on the stage. Along with the music, cheers from their families and friends accompanied them.

    In her welcome address, Principal Dr. Lisa Ihne noted the presence of retiring Sayville Superintendent Dr. John Stimmel in the assembly and congratulated him on his 40 years in education, “…with twenty of them spent in Sayville.” Dr. Ihne added that Dr. Stimmel preceded her as the Principal of Cherry Avenue. “Thank you for your leadership, Dr. Stimmel, support, guidance, and most of all, for your commitment to our students, and we wish you a well-deserved, happy, fun, healthy retirement.”

    Dr.Ihne further acknowledged Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction Dr. Christine Criscione, Sayville Public Relations Specialist Mrs. Mittiga, Sayville Middle School Principal, Dr. Joseph Castoro, Cherry Avenue Social Worker Mrs. McKinnon, “one of our beloved substitutes Mr. Norton,” Board of Ed President John Verdone, and Board of Ed trustee Norm deVenau, who served on the Board of Education for 18 years. “We can’t thank you enough for your service, passion and commitment to our schools, students and their families and our staff alike. Even though you are stepping down, we know you will definitely be a visible presence at all the buildings.”   

    Dr. Ihne also welcomed NY Legislator Anthony Piccirillo. who presented the County Legislature's Character Excellence Award to a deserving student, Mr. Ben Kemper, who flew in from California as he has done for many years to give out the Memorial Kemper Award in honor of his wife, Marjorie, a former teacher at Cherry Avenue, and the guests of honor—the Fifth-Grade students.  Concluding her opening remarks, Dr. Ihne recognized the hard work and commitment of the Fifth-Grade teachers, Mrs. Dawes, Mrs. Denton, and Mrs. Faulkner, who prepared the students for Middle School and had organized the Moving-Up. Dr. Ihne gave a heartfelt thank you to Cherry Avenue Music Teacher Kristi Woerner for her efforts in preparing for today.

    “Although this year started out different,” Dr. Ihne noted, “and despite some challenges due to the pandemic, our Fifth-Graders have impressed all of us with their resilience, making the most out of events that were less than ideal at times. Resiliency, one of our S.T.R.I.D.E.S. traits, was especially demonstrated as a result of their flexibility and positive outlook. They certainly made this year memorable for all of us.”

     “Time goes by too quickly,” Dr. Ihne continued. “Having been their principal for six years, I have enjoyed getting to know this driven and fun group of students who are well prepared for Middle School. Students, although you will be missed, the staff and I look forward to hearing about your experiences and accomplishments in the years to come. Remember to follow your dreams, remain positive, and persevere in the challenges that lie ahead. At times, many take the easy road and/or give up. But I challenge you to work harder, stay true to yourself, and commit to doing what is right, even more so during difficult times. As you face new experiences and become more involved with your friends, remember to talk and share with your parents often.”

    After thanking the parents and families for giving her the pleasure of working with their children, Dr. Ihne presented the class to Middle School Principal Dr. Joseph Castoro. Dr. Castoro congratulated the ‘fantastic Fifth-Graders,” and welcomed them with gentle words of encouragement and the promise that “the Middle School is an exciting place; It’s a place to try new things, to discover your passion.” Dr. Castoro added that the students would be the authors of their own story as the grow and mature. “We are so excited to welcome you as the incoming Sixth-Graders.” He enjoined them to have a fun and safe summer with their friends—“rest, relax, rejuvenate…read a book, once in a while….”

    Once the Special Awards (see at right) were announced, the first musical presentation followed.Because of You, composed and directed by Kristi Woerner, was performed by the Fifth-Grade Chorus.

    Moving up Certificates were presented. Each student was called one-by one to receive recognition and to walk to the balloon arch which framed individual photos taken by family and staff.

    Before the final comments, the students performed one more time, Movin’ to 6th Grade to the tune of Happy Face by Jagwar Twin but paraphrased for the Fifth graders by Kristi Woerner (see program). Dr, Ihne thanked the PTA for their tremendous support and commitment. Then, for one last time, their Cherry Avenue Principal said goodbye to the Fifth-Graders and congratulated the new Sixth-Graders. The soon-to-be Middle Schoolers were cheerful and proud as they marched out of the auditorium and into their futures.

Suffolk County Legislator Character Excellence Award: Brayden Putnam

  • Putnam

Office of the Attorney General CCC Award: Avery Haas

Office of the Attorney General CCC Award: Avery Haas

Marjorie Kemper Award: Dylan Anziano Elise Minerva

Marjorie Kemper Award: Dylan Anziano Elise Minerva

Suffolk County Executive Award: Matthew McCormack

County Executive Public Service Award

NYS Comptroller’s Achievement Awards

  • nys

    • Kensie Cifuentes
    • Julian Bocchetti
    • Mackenzie Chiarulli
    • Madison McMulkin

Cherry Good Choice Award: Colin Bross

Cherry Good Choice Award

Cameron Riccomini Memorial Scholarship: Mickey O'Shea

Cameron Riccomini Memorial Scholarship: Mickey O'Shea

Presidential Award Recipients

  • Presidential Excellence

    Presidential Achievement

    Avery Haas

    Christina Duffy

    Mackenzie Chiarulli

    Elise Minerva

    Julian Bocchetti

    Mickey O’Shea

    Tamsin Linker

    Isabella Schutte

    Breanna Marshall

    Julianna Greco

    John Holahan

    Kensie Cifuentes

    Colin Bross

    Brayden Putnam

    Andrew Goodman

    Lily McCormack


    Callie Smith


    Dylan Anziano


    Matthew McCormack


    Madison McMulkin

Cherry Avenue Class of 2022 Moving Up Program

If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.