National Junior Honor Society Inducts New Members

  • NJHS Group Photo

    June 1, 2023

    On Tuesday, May 30, thirty-one students were inducted into the Sayville Middle School’s chapter of the National Junior Honor Society. 

    The ceremony began with a welcome from Sayville Middle School Principal Dr. Joseph Castoro followed by the reciting of the Pledge of Allegiance by student Jake O’Malley. N.J.H.S. Chapter Advisor Dawn Lloyd-Matthews spoke to those in attendance about the students being honored and introduced the tenets of scholarship, service, leadership, character, and citizenship that are vital to members of the organization. Student Michael DeGraff began the candle lighting and students Madelyn Griffin, Bridget Alcabes, Eliana Lee, Katie Monahan, and Bridget Spreckels each spoke about one of the five tenets of the organization. 

    Once certificates were awarded by Dr. Castoro, student Michael Babbino led the inductees in the N.J.H.S. pledge. 

    The National Junior Honor Society elevates a school’s commitment to the values of scholarship, service, leadership, character, and citizenship. These five main purposes have guided chapters of N.J.H.S. to create enthusiasm for scholarship; to stimulate a desire to render service; to promote leadership; to encourage responsible citizenship; and to develop character in the students' secondary classes. 

    Congratulations to all of the inductees!


    Seventh Grade Inductees

    Abigail Alberti

    John Barry

    Aislyn Beach

    William Blanco

    Jack Bombara

    Elizabeth Butruch

    Riley Cameron

    Jeanette Cestare

    Emma Chung

    Shannon Conefry

    Aidan Devane

    Isabella Donenfeld

    Lily Gavin

    Samantha Graziano

    Grace Hansen 

    Emily Haszto

    Dylan Karoussos

    Frederick Krause

    Jake Lennihan

    Angela Liselli

    Emma McMulkin

    Gabriella Michailidis

    Avery Rogers

    Gavin Sack

    Maxximilian Sheridan

    Logan Siar

    Gavin Walsh

    Matthias Wood

    Alexa Yacono


    Eighth Grade Inductees 

    Isabella Czajkowski

    Piper Tennis