Sayville Theater & Drama Department Scores Big At Annual Teeny Awards

  • SHS students perform in The Music Man.

    June 15, 2023

    The Sayville Theater and Drama Department received amazing accolades on June 4, at the 15th annual Islip Arts Council Teeny Awards ceremony. 

    The Teeny Awards is Islip Arts Council’s high school student recognition program designed to reward performing arts students for their talents. 

    This year the theater department performed the number “Shipoopi” from The Music Man at the ceremony.

    Below is a list of Sayville’s winners from the event:

    Best Actress in a Musical-Maya Guacci as Marian Paroo in The Music Man

    Best Actor in a Comedy or Drama- Ben Flaumenhaft as Narrator in Puffs

    Best Featured Actor in a Comedy or Drama - Noah Ryan as Harry Potter in Puffs


    The following students were recognized for their efforts in Sayville’s productions:

    Dance Captain- Abigail Noack for The Music Man

    Stage Manager- Margaret Brown for The Music Man

    Director’s Choice- Grace McCavanagh for The Music Man 

    Director’s Choice - Asher DeVerna for Puffs

    Orchestra- Laura Minasian for The Music Man 

    Grace McCavanagh was selected to receive a scholarship from the Islip Arts Council for her efforts in the department.