“The Next Chapter Begins” For Cherry Avenue Fifth Graders

  • Cherry Avenue Moving Up Ceremony

    June 21, 2023

    Keep scrolling to see more photos!

    Cherry Avenue’s Class of 2023 was celebrated during the school's moving up ceremony on Tuesday, June 20 at the Old Junior High School on Greene Avenue. 

    “Today is a very special day celebrating past accomplishments while we anticipate the future,” Cherry Avenue Principal Dr. Lisa Ihne told the soon-to-be sixth graders. “Time goes by way too quickly. Having been your principal for six years, I enjoyed getting to know this driven group of students who are well prepared to enter the middle school.”

    Dr. Ihne challenged the students to work hard even in the face of adversity and brought up the story of Olympic Gold Medalist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Despite facing injury setbacks, Ennis-Hill continued to work hard and succeed in her sport. 

    “I challenge you to work harder, stay true to yourself, commit to doing what is right, even more so when it is difficult,” Dr. Ihne said. “Live your life in such a way that you will face challenges with confidence, take responsibility for your actions, dream big and, most importantly, find happiness and joy in all that you do.”

    The student's future principal, Dr. Joseph Castoro of the Middle School, introduced himself to the future sixth graders and told them that while their chapter at Cherry Avenue was ending, their next chapter at the middle school was just beginning. 

    “So, what story will you write for your middle school years,” Dr. Castoro asked the students. “All of you are on a journey. All of you are on a path. And each and every one of you next year we are going to ask you to own that path as members of the Middle School.”


Student Awards

  • Congratulations to the following students who received awards during the ceremony:


    Suffolk County Legislature Character Excellence Award - Sophia Duffy


    NY Attorney General Triple C Award - Chloe Rogers


    Marjorie Kemper Awards -  Brody Frenz, Millie Valenti


    County Executive Public Service Award - Katherine O’Malley


    NYS Comptroller’s Achievement Awards -  Nikolas Ronin, Brendan McCormack, Garrett Learn


    Cherry Good Choice Award -  Penelope MacDougal


    Cameron Riccomini Scholarship Award - T.J. Lotz


    Presidential Awards for Educational Excellence - Graeme Stewart, Grace Bombara, Cole Wessels, Katherine O’Malley, Jameson Vaccaro, Maggie Beach, Olivia Exline, Penelope MacDougal


    Presidential Awards for Educational Achievement -  Griffin Mosca, Samantha Perrucci, Caroline Weirshousky, Chloe Rogers, Sophia Duffy, Brendan McCormack, James Coan, Millie Valenti, Catherine Carberry 


Cherry Avenue 2023 Moving Up Ceremony Program

If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.