Sunrise Drive Class of 2023 Moving Up Ceremony

  • SD Moving Up Ceremony

  • June 26, 2023

    Keep scrolling to see more photos! 

    Congratulations to the Sunrise Drive Class of 2023, who ‘moved up’ on Thursday June 22 at a ceremony in the Sunrise Drive auditorium!

    After the reciting of the Pledge of Allegiance by the Honor Guard, Sunrise Drive Principal Dr. James Foy took attendees back to a time six years ago, in the spring of 2018, when the same group of students sang in the Kindergarten Flag Day presentation. 

    “I’m sure many of you remember that cute little Kindergarten charm that accompanied their voices,” Dr. Foy said. “Our ceremony will begin today by singing our school song once more.”

    After their lovely performance of Sunrise Drive, You are the One, written by music teacher Ms. Amy Baron, the students listened to Dr. Foy recall their years at Sunrise Drive. 

    “It’s amazing how time flies,” Dr. Foy told the audience, “It’s hard to believe that the Class of 2030 is almost halfway through their educational journey here in our district. I’m sure there are many of you that are having flashbacks of the days that your child first walked, the first time they spoke, the first time they rode a bicycle, maybe their first day of kindergarten or even the first time they said your name.”

    Dr. Foy also spoke about the students’ resilience during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

    “You have demonstrated grit and independence in completing assignments and activities that were never done in any history,” Dr. Foy said. “You’ve gone through difficult times and you did it with a smile. To the audience, I say this is what the future holds and it's quite amazing.”

    After his speech, Dr. Foy welcomed to the stage middle school principal Dr. Joseph Castoro, who introduced himself to his soon-to-be sixth graders. 

    “Congratulations to you all on this wonderful day and achievement,” Dr. Castoro told the students and attendees. “I want to share with you all that although you may feel a little nervous, a little sad even, that your Sunrise Drive chapter of your story is coming to a conclusion, the next chapter of middle school begins and only you can write the story. Middle school is a wonderful and exciting place for you to experiment, to meet new people, to try new things and to continue your path in your education.”

    Before the presentation of certificates, the students sang a beautiful rendition of the song Count On Me

    After the presentation of certificates, the Sunrise Drive Class of 2023 presented Dr. Foy with a poster signed by each student so that he could always remember them.

    The ceremony concluded with a performance of the song Climb Higher

    To see all of the photos in a downloadable format CLICK HERE!

Awards Recipients

  • Congratulations to the following students who received awards during the ceremony.

    President’s Academic Fitness Awards 

    Gold Students: These students have maintained an outstanding academic record throughout 4th and 5th grade.  

    Dominick Cesarino

    Nicolas DiMatteo

    Isabella Lipari

    Matisse Loupy

    Adriana Pisani

    Emily Swift

    Matthew Teller

    Matthew Yovino

    Silver Students: These students showed great academic growth or demonstrated exceptional commitment to learning but did not meet the requirements for a gold certificate. 

    Abigail Andersen

    Luke Andruszkiewicz

    Quinlan Brett

    Jackson Collumbell

    Brayden Cox

    Avery Dileo

    Nicholas Gennari

    Alexandra Graziano

    Patrick Hinteman

    Owen Huang

    Robert Liselli

    Liam Myer

    Austin Roberts

    Lily Rubino

    Grace Silvestro

    Chase Sullivan

    Katherine Thiakodemitris

    Adrianna Topal


    Suffolk County Legislator Character Excellence Award: This award goes to a student who shows integrity, accountability, character, solid decision-making skills and a commitment to helping peers.

    Lily Rubino


    NYS Comptroller's Achievement Awards: This award is given to students who show the potential for leadership through involvement in activities that improve the community and school.

    Isabella Lipari

    Robert Liselli


    NY Attorney General Triple C Award: This award is given to students for character, courage and commitment to learning, their community and classmates.

    Scarlett Bidart

    Madison Siar


    County Executive Public Service Award: This award is given to a student who has demonstrated combined academic success with commitment to community. 

    Francesca Grosso


    American Citizenship Award: This award is given to students who participate in school and/or community service, show a positive attitude toward classmates, school, and community and promote citizenship. 

    Abigail Andersen

    Alexandra Graziano

    Cooper Susskind


    3-R Award: This award is given to students who demonstrate the three R's: Respect for self, Respect for others, and Respect for our school.

    Ezekiel Brooks

    Jordan Hamill

    Adriana Pisani

    Austin Roberts 


    David A. Roben Memorial Award: This award is given to a student who treats their fellow classmates with respect, courtesy, and fairness. They show integrity and always have a positive attitude. 

    Jason Strand