Fall 2016 Breakfast of Champions

  • Good Character Runs in the Family

    At the Fall 2016 Breakfast of Champions, recognition was given to eighteen High School students nominated by Sayville teachers and staff for consistently demonstrating exemplary character with positive conduct.


    Assistant Principal Jillian Makris who organized and hosted the morning ceremony opened with an introduction about the quality of character that sets these students apart. “These are the students who help make up the moral fabric of our school. They’re driven by an innate set of values. And so each and every day they strive to be the best they can, and it’s not for a grade on the report card, but it’s just to be good human beings.”


    Turning her attention to the family members present, Mrs. Makris thanked them and voiced the consensus of the faculty and staff, saying that “the young men and women who sit before you are a testament to their upbringing, the love, the support, and the encouragement that they receive in your homes.”  She added that the familiar faces and family names among this year’s recipients were proof that “strong families make good communities,” something her father would repeat constantly when Mrs. Makris was growing up. It was also what distinguished this year’s group of honorees.  She noted that older siblings and cousins had been previous nominees, “…today we actually have two sisters that were nominated—that was the first time that ever happened… When you have a strong family unit, that perpetuates a tradition of compassion and kindness. And it’s passed on from generation to generation.”


    As part of the ceremony, District faculty and staff members called upon each recipient one-by-one and shared their appreciation with personalized messages,*  at which time each student shook hands with Principal Ron Hoffer and received a Breakfast of Champions certificate and plaque with his or her portrait on a Wheaties Box background.

    After, everyone enjoyed a continental breakfast donated by Lovin’Oven. Special thanks go the technology department (Mr. Vogel and Mr. Cross) for making the plaques, and Mr. Ari Kramer and his chamber students who provided the soothing musical ambiance.

     Congratulations to the following: Kelsey Alber, Mary Cascio, Steven Devery Jr., Shaun Gibbons, Julia Intermesoli, Providence Kempf, Kathryn Kolar, Alexa Laskowitz, Claudia Lynch, Olivia Lynch, Megan McElroy, Brenna Marshall, Steven Montalto, Emily Osterloh, Serena Russo, Gianna Scoleri, Emma Vall, and Alexa Villez.

    (To read the comments, click on the link in the Navigation bar at left "Breakfast of Champion Certificates".)