Spring 2016 Breakfast of Champions

  • Praising Consistency at the Spring 2016 Breakfast of Champions


    As part of her eloquent opening remarks, Assistant Principal Jillian Makris welcomed the students, their families and the staff to the Spring 2016 Breakfast of Champions by quoting Aristotle: “You are what you repeatedly do.”  


    Mrs. Makris acknowledged how true these words were about the twenty-four honorees being recognized at the morning celebration. She praised the students for “repeatedly” demonstrating qualities of kindness, motivation, compassion, enthusiasm, diligence, and good citizenship beyond the classroom or athletic field or who achieved their personal best by striving to overcome major obstacles.


    Twice each year, Sayville High School teachers and staff nominate exemplary students for their positive conduct that has made a difference and provided the essential components for a successful High School Community. This year’s Spring ceremony followed that tradition. High School faculty and staff members called upon each recipient one-by-one and shared their appreciation with personalized messages. * After being recognized,  each student shook hands with Principal Ron Hoffer and received a Breakfast of Champions certificate and plaque created with their portrait on a Wheaties Box background. In addition a special guest representing Senator Thomas Croci was on hand to congratulate the Champions. District Office Director Eric Hofmeister (father of Sayville Class of 2014 Valedictorian Liam)  shook hands and awarded each student with an individualized certificate of recognition from Senator Croci.


    After, everyone enjoyed a satisfying breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, bagels, and pancakes along with assorted beverages, donated by  West Lake, A Lovin’Oven Property, which perfectly completed the heartwarming ceremony.



    Special thanks go to Assistant Principal Jillian Makris who organized and hosted the morning ceremony, the technology department for making the plaques, and Mr. Ari Kramer and his chamber students who provided the soothing musical ambiance.  (To read the comments, click on the pdf files attached.)


    Congratulations to the following:

    Loriann Capra, Julia Cassidy, Marissa Cootner, Jacob Feldman, Nicholas Glatman, Sara Holmes, Aidan Kaler, Kevin Kolar, Ryan P. MacDonell, Nedeem Malik, Michael McKillop,Samantha Murphy, Michael Nyman, Joseph Panzarino, Bridget Pitre, Jordan Plompen, Amber Searles, Hunter Selts, Emily Sneddon, Payton Sweeney, Luke Tomasso, Kalle Weik, Rachel Zarett

















Related Files