Fall 2014 Breakfast of Champions

  • A Study of Great Character
    At Breakfast of Champions

    Twenty-one High School students were recognized at the Fall 2014 Breakfast of Champions for consistently demonstrating exemplary character.

    Welcoming the honorees and their families, Assistant Principal Jillian Makris prefaced the ceremony with choice words. Speaking about the students, Mrs. Makris admitted, “Some have superior academic performance, some athletic ability, and others a unique gift in the arts and music field. And no doubt there are many students here that have a combination of all of those, but they were invited here this morning to celebrate the one true trait that they all share in common—character!  And while talent is a gift, character is a choice.”

    Nominated by Sayville High School teachers and staff, these students displayed positive conduct and provided the essential components for a successful High School Community. Among the qualities being recognized were kindness, motivation, compassion, enthusiasm, diligence, and good citizenship beyond the classroom or athletic field or for achieving their personal best by striving to overcome major obstacles.

     “We are what we repeatedly do,” Mrs. Makris quoted Aristotle, and commended the students and their families for providing a moral fabric that would translate well into making a better world. 

    After each staff personalized his or her appreciation for a particular recipient (see comments below), each student received a Breakfast of Champions certificate and plaque created with their portrait on a Wheaties Box background.

    A satisfying breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, bagels, and pancakes along with assorted beverages, donated by Lovin’Oven’s  21 Main Restaurant, West Sayville completed the heartwarming ceremony.

    Special thanks go to Assistant Principal Jillian Makris who organized and hosted the morning ceremony, the technology department for making the plaques, and Mr. Ari Kramer and his chamber students who provided the soothing musical ambiance.

    Congratulations to the following: Alyssa Jackson, Alyssa Klassert, Andrew Deutsch, Anthony Vetere, Conor Riccomini, Daniel Palumbo, Dea Ahlgrim, Emma Philbin, Jamie O’Connor, Julia Lyons, Kara Intermesoli, Kevin O’Halloran, Liam Haber, Mark Doucet, Matthew Laskowitz, Nicholas Cowan,Nicole Sgroi, Salvatore Prevosto, Shaun Keane, Shreeya Panigrahi, and Tara Litvin   

Related Files