June 2015 BOE citations



    JUNE 11, 2015




    Brianna Adams

    Andrew Alexopoulos

    Alison Almeida

    Daniel Ayrovainen

    Sarah Blaskiewicz

    Serena Buono

    Adam Burgardt

    Joshua Carpenter

    Caydence Ehlers

    Scarlett Ferraioli

    Niyah-Marie Fortunato

    Madeline Gibbons

    Thomas Golio

    Liam Higgins

    Michael Keenan

    Kyle Knussman

    Gianna LaFata

    Kevan McCann

    Brianna Pepe

    Michael Peterson

    Aidan Rueb

    Kaylin Rutherig

    Nicholas Spiotto

    Benjamin Suskawicz

    Zachary Zehner

    These fourth grade students in Ms. Moran’s class are being recognized for their community service project encouraging the recycling of plastic bags and for earning 3rd place in the national “Think Outside the Bag” contest.

    Lincoln Avenue




    Annie Bench

    Alexandra Bostinto

    Gwen Brown

    Liam Busch

    Thomas Cea

    Jeremy Chuisano

    Molly Clark

    Kiera Collins

    Colin Gover

    Aidan Keane

    Katrina Kranzle

    Thomas Liguori

    Riley Mahler

    Christopher McCabe

    Rylie Mullaney

    Daniel O’Doherty

    Christopher Racioppi

    Gianna Racanelli

    Shane Romano-Jansen

    Kathryn Schroeder

    Ava Walsh

    Daniel Weber

    Josefina Wilson

    The following Grade 5 students are being recognized for their time, dedication and service to enhance the front garden at Lincoln Avenue.

    Lincoln Avenue


    Presented by Dr. LeBlanc



    Samuel Smith

    Mark Bashen

    These two students are being recognized for mentoring another student every Friday morning.

    Sunrise Drive




    Courtney Castagna

    She received Honorable Mention for her poster in the (CAPS) Child Abuse Prevention Services 2015-2016 Bully Prevention Poster/Poem Contest.

    Sunrise Drive





    Presented by Ms. Castello



    Avery Rosado

    This student received gold placement in the National Spanish Exam

    Middle School




    Emily Benedetto

    Nita George

    Cassandra Rosado

    Christian Simpson

    These students received bronze placement in the National Spanish Exam

    Middle School







    Bettina Bonfiglio

    Victoria Maffettone

    Timothy Mohrmann

    Lorenzo Pensabene

    Ian Surdi

    Liam Wallace

    Isabella Wilson

    These students received Honorable Mention in the National Spanish Exam

    Middle School




    Harrison Bench

    Jordan Ramsaywak

    Donald Schweikert


    These students received Honorable Mention in the National French Exam

    Middle School

    Ava Herrera

    She won the Town of Islip Recycling Poster Contest

    Middle School




    Taylor Schmittzeh

    She received the Citizenship Award for showing exemplary behavior by assisting a severely autistic child at a camp and helped the child with numerous activities.

    Middle School













    Christian Simpson

    Andrew Faughnan

    Sierra Boyce

    Mackenzie Damon

    Sohum Sheth

    Jordan Ramsaywak

    Nicholas Cameron

    Abigail Sneddon

    Amy Tomko

    Cassandra Rosado

    Avery Rosado

    Benjamin Scapellati

    Liam Wallace

    Robert Cascio

    Nita George

    Madelyn Wagner

    Megan Donnelly

    Gabriella Medeck

    Members of the 8th Grade Mathletes Team that came in first place in their division this year.

    Middle School




    Samir Patel

    Tyler Karpowicz

    Ihtesham Khan

    Connor Brennan

    Isabelle Byrne

    Jeremiah Ramsundar

    Sarah Nolan

    Christopher Quartuccio

    Olivia Battell

    Members of the 7th Grade

    Mathletes Team that came in first place in their division this year.

    Middle School










    Nicholas Cameron

    Mackenzie Damon

    Christian Simpson

    Amy Tomko

    Abigail Sneddon

    These students won 3rd place (out of 25) in the Suffolk County Math Contest held at Brookhaven National Lab on March 12th.

    Middle School




                                                                Presented by Mr. Murray

    Jason Burns

    Sean Caraher

    Dillon Esposito-Kelley

    Steven Giardina

    Caitlin Gormley

    Jacob Hoeg

    Robert Kirk

    Michael Nyman

    Matthew Tomko

    Members of the Robotics Team

    High School


    Presented by Mr. Coon





    Zoe Gomes

    Erin Koehler

    Melissa Mangold

    Brian Sputh

    Jordan Zanetti

    These seniors have worked tirelessly toward mastery of at least two languages.

    High School




    Kyle Bianco

    Drake Davison

    Patrick Fitzgerald

    Jamie Mas

    Jessica Reilly


    Anticipated Military – 2015

    High School

    Nicholas Cowan


    High School


    Shreeya Panigrahi


    High School


    Anna Smith

    She earned the highest award possible as a Girl Scout.   Her culminating project was to build a walking path & bench at Mill Pond in Sayville.

    High School





    Presented by Mr. Hoffer






    Soccer Presentation to Coach Nasta





    James Reilly

    Boys Winter Track finished 16th in NYS in the 600 meter  dash





    Meghan O’Mara

    Two Time NYS Qualifier in Girls Golf





    Michael Nadeau

    Two Time NYS Qualifier in Boys Golf and finished 28th in this year’s event





    Brendan Haselton

    NYS Qualifier in Boys’ Golf and finished in the top 50 in this year’s event





    Sean Caraher

    NYS Qualifier in Boys’ Swimming in the 100 meter breaststroke.










    Alexander Henry

    Boys’ Bowling-Rolled a perfect 300 game on January 6th against Connetquot High School.  It is the first recorded perfect game in our school’s history.





    Ceili Howland

    State Girls’ Golf Qualifier for the State golf tournament






    Presented by Mr. Maloney



    Board President John Verdone and Board Vice President Thomas Cooley surprised Maribeth Demetres with a BOE citation for her tireless dedication and great service to the Sayville Community as the District Clerk throughout the school year.

    John Verdone was acknowledged for receiving the "Outstanding School Board Service Award" from the Nassau Suffolk School Boards Association. Mr. Verdone has also been nominated to serve as Vice President of the Nassau Suffolk School Boards Association this coming school year.

    Eileen Walsh-Ahrens and Dina Proteus were acknowledged for their extraordinary efforts to restore some of the funding to local school districts that had been eliminated by the GEA. The GEA has greatly reduced NYS aid to schools by 1 billion dollars on Long Island over the past several years




    JENNIFER HONADEL-WILSON –  Co-President, Cherry Avenue PTA

    DANIELLE WATSON – Co-President, Cherry Avenue PTA

    JOSEPHINE CONTALDI - Co-President, Lincoln Avenue PTA

    DEBORAH GUTHEIL – Co-President, Lincoln Avenue PTA

    DEB FITZPATRICK – President, Sunrise Drive PTA

    ELLEN RECKER – President, MS/HS PTA


    KIM LAGONIGRO – President, SEPTA  


    PATRICIA YONKERS – President, Council of PTAs