Aneri Wins $20,000 Coca Cola scholarship

  • Aneri Kinariwalla Wins

    $20,000 Scholarship From Coca-Cola Scholar Program

    In recognition for her  outstanding leadership, community involvement, and academic achievement, Coca-Cola Refreshments announced that Aneri Kinariwalla from Sayville High School has been awarded $20,000 as a 2014 COCA-COLA SCHOLAR this year. Aneri joins a strong network of Scholars who have been honored by the Coca-Cola system for nearly three decades.

    According to the Press Release from Coca-Cola:  

    In 1986 to celebrate Coca-Cola’s 100th anniversary, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, supported by Coca-Cola Bottlers across the U.S. and The Coca-Cola Company, was established.    The mission of the Foundation is to enhance educational opportunities through scholarship awards for young people who demonstrate academic excellence and leadership in their schools and community.

    The Coca-Cola Scholars program is an achievement-based program and one of the largest corporate-sponsored programs of its kind. “We look at not just academics, but also character, leadership and personal motivation. We want to identify those individuals who are well-rounded and involved- the organizers, the initiators, the do-ers. We look at such things as extracurricular activities, community involvement and outside employment as evidence of these traits.”     

    With $3 million in awards distributed annually through the Coca-Cola Scholars Program to deserving  high school seniors, only 150 students are designated as Coca-Cola Scholars each year. Each Scholar is awarded $20,000. 

    This year the foundation received nearly 110,000 applications from which 2,100 were designated as Semifinalists. Semifinalists had to complete a second application process that included essays, two personal recommendations, and complete school transcripts. These documents were evaluated in February by a team of educators from across the United States. From this pool of Semifinalist applicants, 250 Regional Finalists were chosen. Each Regional Finalist was interviewed and from those interviews, 150 Coca-Cola Scholars were chosen.

    As a result her illustrious high school career and her stellar rise through the Coca-Cola Scholars Program application process, Aneri Kinariwalla has certainly earned this outstanding scholarship. Congratulations, Aneri.

    MARIA BROWN ALSO RECOGNIZED with Educator of Distinction Award by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation

    In addition, the Coca-Cola Scholars program allows winners to select a teacher who has made a difference in their lives for the honorary Joseph B. Whitehead Educator of Distinction Award. Aneri nominated her Science Research Teacher Maria Brown for Mrs. Brown’s exceptional mentor ship and inspiration.

    Aneri’s own words (see below) were included in Mrs. Brown’s plaque: “For having unswerving faith in my potential to change the world, for nurturing my maturity and confidence, and  for becoming more than just a teacher, thank you, Maria Brown.”

    Congratulating Aneri and her mentor Maria Brown (seated) were Sayville High School Principal Ron Hoffer, Coca-Cola Refreshments Representative Jason Meyer, Sayville Guidance Councilor Mary Jane Stevens, and Sayville Superintendent of Schools Dr. Walt Schartner.