National Honor Society 2013 Inductees

  • Eighty Inducted into

    Sayville High School’s


    Eighty Sayville High School students, who maintained a 94.5 weighted average throughout their High School careers as well as demonstrated the attributes of scholarship, leadership, character, and service throughout their various co-curricula and extra-curricula activities, were inducted into the National Honor Society this spring.

    Founded in 1953 upon the principle that “true education creates a well rounded individual,” membership into the August E. Hubel Chapter National Honor Society may have scholarship as the first criteria, but each of the Sayville candidates’ applications had to pass the rigorous examination for examples of leadership, character, and service in order to qualify for induction.

    Opening the ceremony, NHS Faculty Advisor Kevin Recker, welcomed, thanked and applauded the parents for their supportive roles while acknowledging the tremendous achievements of the young men and women.

    During the assembly, Principal Ron Hoffer addressed the members and their families, stating: “Sayville High School confers no higher academic honor on a student body than membership into this remarkable organization…. In addition, we look for individuals who have integrity, honor, and take pride in what they represent. We are pleased to announce that the inductees here have met, and in many cases, far exceed these criteria.” 

    After thanking the parents for serving as the role models for the “outstanding and remarkable group of young adults,” Mr. Hoffer also acknowledged the “commitment and dedication” of the Superintendent, Central Administrators, Board of Education, High School faculty, and staff. We are very fortunate to have their tremendous amount of support and leadership… Without this collegial spirit, we would not be able to provide our students with the quality of programs that we offer here, year after year.”

    To put his message of striving for excellence in perspective, Mr. Hoffer shared the results of the 40-year longitudinal study by Dr. Douglas Heath, psychologist at Haverford College, in which Dr. Heath examined what was the greatest predictor of success in adult life. “What he found was,” Mr. Hoffer said, “participation in ‘activity-based activities,’” i.e., involvement in extra-curricula and co-curricula activities would likely continue throughout life and lead to genuine success in the future.


    The ceremony continued with 2013 NHS slate of officers bequeathing their offices to the newly elected officers for the 2014-15 school year (see below), with special words of advice:

    From the Class of 2013, Nicole Sala handed over the office of President to Class of 2014 Sabrina Mayrose;


    From the Class of 2013, Curran Boyce handed over the office of Vice President to Nicole DelGaudio;


    From the Class of 2013, Kate Mulry handed over the office of Treasurer to Richard Salloum;


    From the Class of 2013, Erin Abraham handed over the office of Secretary to Erin MacDonnell;


    From the Class of 2013, Jacqueline Ryder handed over the office of Historian to Jill Mediatore.

    Upon closing, each inductee (see list below) was called by name to sign the NHS registry book and join their fellow NHS members on stage to receive a round of applause from their families.

    Congratulations to the newly inducted members of the National Honor Society:

          Jay Abad

    Michelle Anderson

    Spencer Andrews

    Kerry Barrett

    Kathleen Barry

    Krista Becker

    Marade Bergen

    Britton Boyce

    Kristen Bricker

    Edward Burke

    Stephen Callis

    Julia Cameron

    Kaitlyn Cassidy

    Michelle Civitella

    Michael Coan

    Adam Creglia

    Kelsey Dargis

    Joseph DeBonis

    Nicole DelGaudio

    Joseph DePompeo

    Melanie Dietrich

    Scott Dodaro

    Esra Erdogan

    Michael Farese

    Carley Farrell

    Kara Finnen

    Aaron Fisher

    Dana Fox

    Tiare Fridrich

    Ariana Garrett

    Emily Goczan

    Caroline Greco

    Shannon Haselton

    Colleen Henderson

    Julia Hirsch

    Dara Hofmann

    Liam Hofmeister

    Kristi Kacinski

    Zoe Kalomiris

    Aneri Kinariwalla

    Jordan Kobel

    Eric Laliberty

    Heather Leahy

    Jennifer Lembeck

    Scott Litvin

    Sean Lorthioir

    Emily Lowe

    Julia Magnani

    Meghan Maloney

    Susan Mangaluz

    Michael Marchan

    Meghan Marshall

    Sabrina Mayrose

    Jill Mediatore

    Madison Mills

    Sarah Monastero

    Kevin Murphy

    Alexandra Murray

    Emily Nowlan

    Connor O’Malley

    Shannon O’Neil

    Tejas Patel

    Samantha Peterson

    Samantha Pittari

    William Potts

    Jaclyn Roppelt

    Jack Rosa

    Anthony Ruiz-Alatorre

    Jesus Ruiz-Alatorre

    Olivia Russell

    Richard Salloum

    Pamela-Sue Smith

    Patrick Smith

    Katya Sparwasser

    Sydney Teplitz

    Mary Thayer

    Angela Vetere

    Briana Ward

    Shannon Wissemann

    Morgan Young